Executive Bios

Chief Operating Officer - Ken Paulson

Ken Paulson is the Chief Operating Officer with the BC Oil and Gas Commission and prior to that was the Chief Engineer until October 2011 when he assumed his current position.

Mr. Paulson has more than 30 years of experience in the oil and gas sector, the last 13 of which have been in varied regulatory roles within the National Energy Board and the Commission which he joined in 2009. As a professional engineer, Mr. Paulson is a staunch supporter of the development of standards which can provide a rational basis for technical and safety regulations governing oil and gas activities within Canada and globally.

As a past chair of the ASME Pipeline Systems Division and a former Board member of the International Petroleum Technology Institute, Mr. Paulson is well connected with engineering communities within the oil and gas sector in North America and globally. He maintains an active involvement in the industry through ASME and other industry organizations, including supporting standards development under the Canadian Standards Association.

Prior to joining the Commission, Mr. Paulson was the Technical Leader for Operations at the National Energy Board, where he provided oversight and direction to technical work within their Operations Business Unit. He was actively involved in the development of several of the NEB’s goal-oriented regulations and has assisted other governments within North and South America in the development of safety and engineering regulations as they apply to the oil and gas sector.

Ken and his wife reside in Victoria and he divides his time between the Commission offices.


Chief Engineer - Mayka Kennedy

Mayka Kennedy is the Chief Engineer at the BC Oil and Gas Commission and leads numerous technical divisions related to pipelines, facilities, drilling and production and reservoir engineering, as well as field engineering, technical investigations, asset retirement and reconciliation.

A professional engineer with over 16 years of experience in the oil and gas sector, Mayka is dedicated to enhancing organizational leadership, developing regulatory and strategic planning and ensuring safe, sound decisions are made regarding oil and gas operations. She is committed to sharing knowledge and experience at numerous levels, from international technical conferences to women in leadership events to intergovernmental and community consultations.

She graduated from the University of Alberta with a degree in chemical engineering, and since then her career has taken her from Alberta to Texas, Oklahoma to Western Siberia, and most recently, British Columbia. She currently resides in Kelowna where she raises two daughters.

Chief Financial Officer - Randall Smith

Randall Smith is the Chief Financial Officer and Leader, Corporate Services Division with the BC Oil and Gas Commission. Mr. Smith is a senior financial executive with 25 years of corporate management, finance, accounting, and tax and audit experience.  He began his career in 1983 as a chartered accountant with Field and Company Chartered Accountants in Victoria.

From there, he was employed with the B.C. Office of the Auditor General, where he served as audit manager from 1989 – 1996. In 1997, Mr. Smith began a 10-year tenure with the Columbia Power Corporation, first as the Corporate Controller and serving his last two years as the Chief Financial Officer.

Joining the Commission in March 2008, Mr. Smith leads the Finance, Human Resources, Information Technology and Administration, and Business Planning and Reporting divisions providing strategic planning, financial analysis and performance measurement services as well as risk management strategies.

Chief Legal and Regulatory Officer - Trevor Swan

Trevor Swan is General Counsel & Corporate Secretary with the BC Oil and Gas Commission.

A native of Sechelt, British Columbia, Mr. Swan is both a professional forester and a lawyer. He obtained a Bachelor of Science in Forestry from UBC in 1981 and Registered Professional Forester designation in 1983. He completed his LLB at the University of Alberta in 1986 and was called to the Alberta Bar in 1987 and the B.C. Bar in 1988.

Before joining the Commission in 2010, Mr. Swan worked in the forest sector as a field forester, as a Branch Director for the B.C. Ministry of Forests and as a consultant providing legal and policy advice to government, industry and First Nations. Mr. Swan has been involved with the development of many complex legislative initiatives related to natural resource management in B.C. From 2004 to 2011, he was Chair of the Private Managed Forest Land Council.

Mr. Swan’s responsibilities as General Counsel & Corporate Secretary include leading the Legal & Regulatory Department and working with the Commission’s Board of Directors and its Audit, Human Resources and Regulatory Committees to ensure the Board and Committees meet their respective mandates.