Skip to main content

Our Executive team is responsible for putting the Board’s decisions into action, with the help of leadership staff across the Commission.

Day-to-day operations and management of the Commission are the responsibility of the Executive.

The Provincial Government of B.C., through its Ministry of Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation, sets province-wide goals and standards for regulating energy resource development.

Our Board of Directors is responsible for creating the policy and direction of the Commission to meet these government expectations.

Paul Jeakins

Paul Jeakins

Commissioner, Chief Executive Officer

Paul Jeakins was appointed Commissioner and CEO in October 2011. In this role, Paul is the strategic and operational leader of the Commission and Vice Chair of the Commission’s Board of Directors. He is also the Founding Chair of the Western Regulators’ Forum Board.

Prior to taking on this role, Paul was the Chief Operating Officer, Deputy Commissioner of Regulatory Affairs and Stewardship and Manager of Audits.

Paul brings over 30 years of expertise to the Commissioner role, in organizational leadership, regulatory and strategic planning, decision-making and financial management.

Based in Victoria, Paul divides his time between the Commission’s offices located around the province and regularly speaks to local and international audiences on the topics of regulating shale gas and Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG).

Ken Paulson

Ken Paulson

Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer

Ken Paulson is the Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer. In this role, Ken is responsible for overseeing the Commission’s Operations Division, including regulating the full life cycle of energy resource development, from issuing approvals to managing closure and liability.

Ken has over 30 years of experience in the oil and gas sector, including more than 15 years in regulatory roles for Canada and the Province of B.C. Prior to taking on this role, Ken served as the Commission’s Chief Engineer.

Ken maintains active involvement in the engineering community within the oil and gas sector in North America and globally. He is a Board member for the Society of Petroleum Engineers, the Chair of the Energy Resources Committee of the Canadian Association of Municipal and Public Utility Tribunals (CAMPUT) and the Vice Chair of the Western Regulators Forum.

Myaka Kennedy

Mayka Kennedy

Executive Vice President, Chief Engineer

Mayka Kennedy is the Executive Vice President, Chief Engineer. In this role, Mayka leads numerous technical divisions related to pipelines, facilities, drilling and production, reservoir engineering, field engineering, technical investigations, asset retirement and reconciliation.

A professional engineer with over 19 years of experience in the oil and gas sector, Mayka is dedicated to organizational leadership, enhancing regulatory and strategic planning, and ensuring safe, sound decisions are made regarding oil and gas operations.

Mayka is committed to sharing knowledge and experience and regularly speaks at technical and leadership conferences.

Mayka has a degree in chemical engineering from the University of Alberta and has achieved the Chartered Director designation. Her career has taken her from Alberta to Texas, Oklahoma, Western Siberia and Kelowna, where she currently works and resides.

Inés Piccinino

Inés Piccinino

Executive Vice President, Legal and Regulatory Affairs

Inés Piccinino is the Executive Vice President, Legal and Regulatory Affairs and Strategic Services. In this role, Inés leads strategic engagement, legal services, regulatory affairs, Board services, internal audit and integrated risk management.

Prior to joining the Commission, Inés worked for the B.C. Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources for 15 years, working on royalties and infrastructure programs, industry competitiveness, service sector development forecasting and value added strategies. In 2013, Inés was appointed Assistant Deputy Minister, Oil and Gas Division.

Inés has a degree in economics from the University of Buenos Aires and has worked on a variety of energy, competitiveness, industrial development and environmental programs for the Federal government of Argentina, City government of Buenos Aires, United Nations Development Program (UNDP) and the World Bank.

Len Dawes

Len Dawes

Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer

Len Dawes is the Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer. In this role, Len leads the Commission’s corporate property, finance, records management, human resources, information systems and technology, and analysis and planning teams.

Len joined the public service in 1991 with the Ministry of Finance. In 1998, Len joined Tourism British Columbia as its Chief Financial Officer and Vice President, Corporate Services, where he helped lead the growth and development of the organization from revenues of $18 to $60 million.

In 2010, Len moved to the Ministry of Social Development and Social Innovation and served as Assistant Deputy Minister and Executive Financial Officer.

Len graduated with a degree in business from Simon Fraser University and has his chartered accountant designation.

Website Feedback